No author platform? Me either. Let’s fix that.

Hey. I’m Evangeline. Or Evie, Eve, Eva, Ev, or whatever else you feel like calling me.

To find out a little back story on me, click over to my Meet Evangeline page.

Forty has been a liberating year for me. Over and over, as that big birthday approached, I was told that my perspective would change, and that I just wouldn’t care about some things anymore. I thought, “yeah, sure,” but they were totally right. To sound very cliché, I decided to not sweat the small stuff anymore. Life’s too short to waste on that shit.

One of the things that’s always been buried in the recesses of my heart is to be a published novelist. It’s scary to think about the work that goes into it. How many hours of research to get the details of a certain scene right. How many words drafted, edited, tossed out and rewritten. How many cups of coffee, writing prompts, computer failures, tears and cuss words. And after all that and then some, you still may not find anyone willing to publish it.

Scares the crap out of me just thinking about it.

But, I’m not known for being chicken. And all those gorgeous shelves of books in Barnes & Noble were written by people who weren’t scared. If they can do it, then hell, I can too.

I know that in this day and age, I need a platform to pull this thing off. And I don’t have one. Honestly, I hate the idea of a platform as it relates to writing.

(Believe me–there WILL be a post or two about that!)

As much as I may rant about platforms and publishing, I know that if I want to see my dream fulfilled and see my name on the spine of a book, I have to play by the rules. This blog is where I will start that, and show you what I learn along the way.

I’ve already jumped ahead and launched on a few social media channels (see the Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest and Instagram buttons on the upper left), but this is the beginning of the blog–my home base.

Building a platform, especially for a fiction writer, is a big task. As much as I have searched, read blogs and e-books, pinned infographics, and took web courses, I still haven’t found anyone offering quite what I was looking for. So, I’m going to do my best on my own, and hopefully what I discover will be just what you needed, too.

My next post will jump right in, as I tell you what I’ve already experienced by starting my social media accounts. Come back to read all about it!

Bring it, 2015!

11 thoughts on “No author platform? Me either. Let’s fix that.”

      1. In which case my Astronomical Chronicles series is for you! I’ll be writing them through June of this year, probably.

        Like

  1. What a fantastic first post! I found you over at the commons.
    I love your mantra and your mission. I hope you find the community you are looking for in this WP space. I’ve been blogging for about a year and am so thrilled to have met the people I did. As far as fiction…you’ll find some great supporters in this space. YeahWriteMe is one of my favorite forums. They host a fiction, flash fiction and poetry challenges every week. My genre is non-fiction, but I have fun joining in.
    Best wishes and have fun with Blogging 101. You’re off to a great start!
    Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So, as I mentioned in The Commons I’ve dropped into say ‘Hi’.

    I’ve only been engaging with authors and prospective authors for circa 6 months, but I’ve found that folk are helpful and supportive.

    What sort of audience are you aiming at, and have you started writing yet?

    Whatever the answer, good luck! x

    Like

Your turn--what do you have to say?

